My first experience with open-source

Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

My first experience with open-source

My First Steps in Contributing to Open Source

As a fan of technology, I often use open-source software in my everyday life. From web browsers to programming, open-source projects power much of the digital world. While I've benefited from these tools, I haven't before given back to these communities. Yet, I read a wonderful blog post explaining how to take part in open-source projects. I found it to be very helpful.

Computer code on screen. From unsplash.com

The post emphasized that open-source projects welcome contributions of all sizes. Even starting with something small, like fixing a typo in a project's documentation. These small contributions helped me to get started with open-source.

Another tip was to start by looking for open issues tagged as "good first issue" or "help wanted." These highlight tasks suitable for new contributors. I browsed such issues on a few projects I use and found some I could try tackling.

After some initial hesitation, I decided to dive in. I forked the repository, made my small edits, and opened a pull request. The maintainers kindly reviewed my PR and offered feedback on formatting. I addressed their comments and soon my PR is now merged. It was exciting to make my first tangible open-source contribution!

While it was a tiny update, the experience gave me more confidence to keep contributing. My next step is to try fixing a simple bug report. I also plan to continue reading about best practices for open-source collaboration.

Contributing to open source is rewarding. It allows me to practice real-world skills while also supporting projects I rely on daily. Even small improvements can make a difference if enough people pitch in. I encourage anyone interested to take that first step.

NetworkX is a Python package for the creation, manipulation, and study of the structure, dynamics, and functions of complex networks.