Making Things Easier to Use for Everyone

Photo by Yomex Owo on Unsplash

Making Things Easier to Use for Everyone

Making app usage and accessibility easy for everyone

Introduction

Nowadays, there are many websites and apps. It is important that everyone can use them, even if they have a disability. As a developer, I try to make things easy to use for all people. In this article, I will talk about how I made things easier to use for everyone.

person holding black iPad. https://unsplash.com/photos/iFSvn82XfGo

Understanding Accessibility

Accessibility means making websites and apps work well for people with disabilities. This includes people who cannot see, hear, move, or think in certain ways. By following guidelines, we can make things everyone can use.

Making Visuals Easier to See

One website I worked on had charts using lots of colors. This was hard for people who are color blind. So I added patterns and labels instead of colors. Now people who are color blind can understand the charts.

Adding Captions to Videos

I also worked on a video app. I added captions so people who are deaf can read what is being said. Captions help people who cannot hear and also anyone in a noisy place.

Making Keyboards Work

It is important that websites work with keyboards, so people who cannot use a mouse can navigate. I made sure the website was accessible with keyboards. I also highlighted the focused item so keyboard users can see where they are.

Conclusion

Making things easy to use for all is important. As developers, we have the power to make the digital world inclusive. Let's make accessibility a priority in all our work, to empower everyone.